The Ultimate Guide to Tennis in Sandy Springs

Courts, Communities, and Competition

Start here: the quick guide

The Sandy Springs Racquet Center is the clearest public, reservable option for a short visit. Check the live calendar before heading out.

Best first stop

Sandy Springs Racquet Center, 500 Abernathy Road NE. Public court bookings, clinics, a pro shop, and listed lighted courts.

Meet players

Look for Adult Start clinics (USTA 1.5–2.5), intermediate clinics (3.0–3.5), or the Friday Night Round Robin (3.0+) on PlayByPoint.

Posted court rates

The Center’s fee page lists $4.50 per person per hour on weekdays, 9 a.m.–6 p.m., and $5 per person per hour after 6 p.m. weekdays and all weekend. Verify current rates.

Other city courts

Hammond Park has two lighted courts; Abernathy Park lists two courts; Ridgeview Park offers tennis and pickleball with schedule-dependent access.

Racquet service

The Center’s Your Serve Tennis shop advertises same-day stringing. Call 404-255-6006 to confirm service and turnaround.

Plan before you play

Confirm availability, court surface, price, and lighting. Official Center pages disagree on the tennis-court count.

Visitor note: Public court booking is documented at the Racquet Center. I could not verify a private-club day-pass or short-stay booking policy, nor a guaranteed drop-in ladder or league placement for a one-week visit.

Tennis courts in Sandy Springs

These municipal facilities are within Sandy Springs. Court availability, fees, and reservation rules are not published consistently across every city park, so check current details before making a trip.

Public · Reservations available

Sandy Springs Racquet Center

Address: 500 Abernathy Road NE, Sandy Springs, GA 30328. The City facility page (sandyspringsga.gov) lists lighted courts, a pro shop, and locker rooms.

Court inventory: Official pages conflict. The City lists 24 tennis courts (20 hard, four clay). The operator’s home page (sandyspringstennis.com) lists 20 tennis courts (16 hard, four clay), plus 16 permanent pickleball courts. Its booking page (sandyspringstc.playbypoint.com) describes 30 lighted courts while its listed categories total 36. Confirm the current reservable tennis-court count and surface directly.

Posted rates: The court-fee page (sandyspringstennis.com) lists $4.50 per person per hour on weekdays from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; $5 per person per hour after 6 p.m. on weekdays and all weekend; and $30 per hour for a ball machine, including court fee. The page has no clear effective date, so confirm current pricing.

Reservations: The fee page says online reservations are available up to 30 days ahead; desk reservations can be made up to three days ahead. It lists 404-303-6182 for reservations. The Center contact page lists 678-224-8810 and frontdeskmanager@sandyspringstennis.com. Check the booking page or confirm the appropriate number before calling.

City park · Lighted courts

Hammond Park

Tennis-court entrance: 6005 Glenridge Drive, Sandy Springs, GA. Use the Glenridge Drive lot for the courts. The City park listing (sandyspringsga.gov) lists two lighted tennis courts and park hours of 7 a.m.–11 p.m.

The park page does not specify court surface, court-specific playing hours, fees, or a reservation process. Park hours and a lighting listing do not guarantee that courts or lights are available until closing; confirm before a late session.

City park

Abernathy Park

Address: 254 Johnson Ferry Road, Sandy Springs, GA 30328. The City park listing (sandyspringsga.gov) lists two tennis courts. The City’s parks page (sandyspringsga.gov) says most parks are open from 7 a.m. to dusk.

The park listing does not specify court surface, lighting, court-specific hours, reservation rules, or fees.

School-calendar access

Ridgeview Park courts

The City listing (sandyspringsga.gov) describes tennis and pickleball courts at Ridgeview Charter Middle School. A City school-use announcement (sandyspringsga.gov) described four rehabilitated courts: two retained for tennis and two converted into four pickleball courts.

The City’s 2026–27 holiday-hours page (sandyspringsga.gov) gives 8 a.m.–dusk hours on specified school breaks. Access follows the school calendar, and the current park listing does not give a street address. Verify the schedule before going; fees and court-reservation procedures are not stated on the pages reviewed.

Nearby courts: Facilities in Atlanta, Dunwoody, Roswell, and Brookhaven are in separate jurisdictions and may have different hours, fees, and access rules.

Community, leagues & social play

ALTA and USTA teams

The Sandy Springs Racquet Center says it hosts men’s, women’s, mixed, and junior teams across four seasons. Its ALTA/USTA page (sandyspringstennis.com) says registered teams can reserve home courts online at a discount. For questions about playing home matches there, email sstc.tennisad@gmail.com.

The City facility page says the Center has more than 130 USTA/ALTA teams; the operator’s league page says more than 150. Treat those figures as evidence of an active local tennis scene, not as a verified current count. League participation is seasonal, and team placement or guest play is not guaranteed.

Find association information at ALTA (altatennis.org) and USTA Atlanta (ustaatlanta.com).

Clinics and social play

The Center’s Adult Clinics page (sandyspringstennis.com) lists Adult Start for USTA 1.5–2.5, intermediate clinics for 3.0–3.5, and a Friday Night Round Robin for 3.0+. Sign up through the Events section of PlayByPoint (sandyspringstc.playbypoint.com); check its live calendar for dates, current level guidance, and prices.

For a short visit, a clinic or round robin is the clearest documented way to meet players. Ask the Center about other current play options. The sources reviewed do not verify a public drop-in ladder or promise visitor access to a league match.

Lessons & coaching

Private lessons

Tennis Academy of the South operates at the Sandy Springs Racquet Center. The Center’s adult-program information lists 678-224-8810 for private-lesson requests. Private lessons are scheduled directly with a pro; prices are not posted on the page, so ask about current rates and availability.

Group clinics

For group instruction, the Center lists Adult Start for USTA 1.5–2.5 and intermediate clinics for 3.0–3.5. The Friday Night Round Robin is listed for 3.0+. Check the Adult Clinics page (sandyspringstennis.com) and register through the Events section of PlayByPoint. Schedules and offerings can change; use the live calendar to confirm sessions during your visit.

For junior programs or seasonal instruction, contact the Center to verify current programs and instructor availability.

Racquet shops & services

Your Serve Tennis at the Racquet Center

The Center’s pro shop is operated by Your Serve Tennis. Its pro-shop page (sandyspringstennis.com) advertises same-day racquet stringing and demo-racquet checkout. Call 404-255-6006 to confirm string availability, labor price, turnaround time, and demo terms.

Posted shop hours: Monday–Tuesday, 10 a.m.–7 p.m.; Wednesday–Friday, 9 a.m.–8 p.m.; Saturday, 9 a.m.–6 p.m.; Sunday, 11 a.m.–5 p.m. Hours and services may change. The Your Serve Tennis locations page (yourserve.com) lists other metro Atlanta stores; verify a specific address and service before making a separate trip.

Sandy Springs tennis FAQs

I’m visiting for a week and don’t have a membership. Where should I start?

Start with the public Sandy Springs Racquet Center. Check PlayByPoint (sandyspringstc.playbypoint.com) for a court or clinic, then confirm the current fee, court type, and availability. The Center’s fee page says online bookings are available up to 30 days ahead and desk bookings up to three days ahead. Smaller city courts may also be useful, but their public pages provide fewer details about reservations and fees. A verified private-club day-pass policy was not found.

What if I’m around NTRP 2.0?

The Center’s Adult Start clinic is listed for USTA 1.5–2.5, making it the closest documented match. Intermediate clinics are listed for 3.0–3.5, and the Friday Night Round Robin for 3.0+. Check the current calendar and confirm the level fit before registering.

Where can 2.0–4.0 players find compatible hitting partners?

Check the Center’s Adult Start and intermediate clinics, or the Friday Night Round Robin for 3.0+. Players near 4.0 should ask the Center which current clinic or team is appropriate; a dedicated 4.0 drop-in session was not verified. ALTA or USTA teams may offer longer-term play, but joining depends on team availability and season.

Can I play after dark?

The Racquet Center and Hammond Park list lighted courts. Confirm that a particular court and a lighted booking are available at your chosen time. Park closing hours do not by themselves guarantee court or lighting access until closing.

Where can I get my racquet restrung?

Your Serve Tennis at the Racquet Center advertises same-day stringing. Call 404-255-6006 to check string selection, price, hours, and turnaround before dropping off your racquet.

What should I verify before heading to a court?

Check availability, current court count and surface, weather or maintenance closures, the applicable fee, and whether lights are available. For Ridgeview, check the school-break schedule first. The Racquet Center’s official pages conflict about its tennis-court inventory.

Is there a notable professional player from Sandy Springs?

The sources reviewed did not verify a notable professional player specifically from Sandy Springs, so this guide does not attribute broader Atlanta-area players to the city.

Practical planning notes

  1. Check the Racquet Center’s live booking calendar (sandyspringstc.playbypoint.com) for courts, clinics, and events during your dates.
  2. Confirm the court surface, current price, and lighting for your booking time; operator pages disagree about inventory.
  3. If meeting local players is a priority, choose a clinic or round robin by level and confirm that it is running during your stay.
  4. Check City park hours before using a municipal court. Ridgeview access is especially dependent on the school calendar.
  5. Call the pro shop before visiting to confirm stringing service, price, turnaround, and hours.

The clearest local tennis-culture signal is the Racquet Center’s ALTA/USTA team activity, clinics, and tournaments. Published team totals conflict, and league placement is not guaranteed for visitors.