The Ultimate Guide to Tennis in Roswell, GA

Courts, Communities, and Coaching

Your Quick Guide

A few useful first moves, whether you live here or have one afternoon to play.

Book a public court

Roswell lists 28 tennis courts across five locations. Start with the city court guide (roswellgov.com), then reserve through Amilia (app.amilia.com). Posted hourly rates are $6 for residents and $9 for nonresidents, with a Lake Charles exception to confirm.

Pick your park

Roswell Area Park (roswellgov.com) has 12 lighted courts; East Roswell Park (roswellgov.com) has eight. Their larger court banks give you more openings to search.

Find people to play

Ask a clinic about a current mixer, try the USTA Atlanta singles ladder (ustaatlanta.com), or look for a regular team through ALTA (altatennis.org) and USTA Atlanta (ustaatlanta.com).

Learn or tune up

Browse city racquet-sports sessions (app.amilia.com) or contact Brandt Tennis Academy (brandttennisacademy.com). For stringing, try Sutton Total Tennis (suttontotaltennis.com) or Your Serve Tennis (yourserve.com).

Why Play in Roswell?

Roswell pairs a substantial public-court network with private clay-court play and the wider Atlanta league scene. It is also home to ALTA’s office (altatennis.org).

Book a lighted court, arrange a clinic or match, then explore historic Canton Street and the Chattahoochee area (visitroswellga.com). Coaches, captains, clinics, and mixers are useful introductions when meeting local players matters as much as court time.

Courts in Roswell

The city’s court list (roswellgov.com) names five public facilities. Where the city does not identify a surface or lighting, confirm those details before making plans around them.

Public Courts

Roswell Area Park Tennis Center (roswellgov.com)

10495 Woodstock Road, Roswell, GA 30075
(770) 641-3775

12 lighted tennis courts · Public reservation. A court directory (ralle.app) identifies hard courts; the city facility page does not specify the surface. Picnic areas and restrooms are available.

East Roswell Park Tennis Center (roswellgov.com)

9000 Fouts Road, Roswell, GA 30076

8 lighted tennis courts · Public reservation. A 2023 rebuilding report (ajc.com) describes hard-court surfaces. Picnic areas and restrooms are available.

Hembree Park (roswellgov.com)

850 Hembree Road, Roswell, GA 30076

4 lighted tennis courts · Public reservation. A court directory (gladiatortennis.com) lists a hard surface; the city does not specify it. Restrooms are available.

Grimes Bridge Pickleball & Tennis Center (roswellgov.com)

830 Grimes Bridge Road, Roswell, GA 30075

2 tennis courts · Public reservation. The facility also has four pickleball courts. The city page does not specify the tennis-court surface or lighting.

Lake Charles (roswellgov.com)

740 Jones Road, Roswell, GA 30075

2 tennis courts. The city page does not specify surface or lighting. City pages disagree about whether standard court fees apply here; call Recreation & Parks at (770) 641-3705 before going.

Booking, Prices & Cancellations

The city court page (roswellgov.com) posts these rates and limits bookings to two courts per person or group and three hours per court.

  • $6/hour: Resident court rate · $120 annual pass
  • $9/hour: Nonresident court rate · $180 annual pass

The annual-pass listing (app.amilia.com) says passholders reserve without an additional court charge. It gives residents a seven-day booking window and nonresidents a three-day window. For a seven-day visit, hourly bookings will usually be simpler than an annual pass.

  1. Check openings in the city reservation system (app.amilia.com).
  2. Bring your ID and reservation receipt for confirmation.
  3. If weather cancels play on the same day, request a full account credit that day.

Lake Charles: The citywide page says fees apply everywhere except Lake Charles, but the facility page (roswellgov.com) shows standard prices and a reservation link. Call (770) 641-3705 to confirm the current policy.

Changes of plan: Under the city cancellation policy (roswellgov.com), cancellations requested four to seven days ahead carry a 25% handling fee; requests less than 72 hours ahead receive no refund. Bookings cannot be transferred to another time.

Private Clubs

Country Club of Roswell (ccroswell.com)

2500 Club Springs Drive, Roswell, GA 30076
Main: (770) 475-7800 · Tennis shop: (770) 475-7943

9 Har-Tru clay courts · 4 hard courts. Offers ALTA and USTA teams, private and group lessons, clinics, flex leagues, and mixers. Ask about tennis membership (ccroswell.com) or member-sponsored guest play; a short-stay court-rental price is not published.

Brookfield Country Club (invitedclubs.com)

100 Willow Run Road, Roswell, GA 30075
(770) 993-1990

6 hard courts · 4 clay courts. Lists clinics, team lessons, junior programs, leagues, and social play. Courts are for members, who reserve through the Invited app. Ask the club about membership and guest rules (invitedclubs.com); its racquet page does not publish tennis guest fees or lighting details.

Community & Competition

Teams and Associations

ALTA

Atlanta Lawn Tennis Association (altatennis.org) is central to the area’s team tennis. Its listed adult tennis membership is $30 per calendar year. Member-organized teams play at approved parks, clubs, and neighborhood facilities.

Search the players-and-teams listings (altatennis.org) by area and league, then ask a captain about level, practices, and roster space. ALTA’s office is at 300 Colonial Center Parkway, Suite 140, Roswell, GA 30076; it is an association office, not a court venue. Contact details (altatennis.org)

USTA Atlanta

Adult programs (ustaatlanta.com) include level-based leagues, mixed doubles, age-group play, and a singles ladder. The team finder (ustaatlanta.com) includes a database and Facebook group.

Check the current league calendar (ustaatlanta.com) before planning around a season. Junior programs (ustaatlanta.com) include team and flex options.

Flexible Matches and Social Play

The USTA Atlanta singles ladder (ustaatlanta.com) groups players by skill level and lets them arrange challenges at an agreed court and time. T2Tennis (t2tennis.com) and Ultimate Tennis (ultimatetennis.com) offer Atlanta-area flex leagues suited to residents and repeat visitors who can complete a season.

For casual doubles, ask city instructors, OZ mixers, and club pros about groups at your level. Check the Roswell/Alpharetta Meetup (meetup.com) for a current event date before making plans.

Local Tennis Connections

Roswell has produced accomplished college players. Kourtney Keegan’s Florida Gators biography (floridagators.com) lists Roswell as her hometown; she won the 2016 NCAA doubles title with Brooke Austin and played in the 2016 US Open women’s doubles draw.

Brandon Freestone’s Georgia Tech biography (ramblinwreck.com) also lists Roswell as his hometown. Brett Ross’s Georgia State biography (georgiastatesports.com) says he attended Roswell’s Centennial High School, played at Wake Forest, and later competed on the ITF circuit.

Lessons & Coaching

Check the current session, level, location, access rules, and total price directly with the program.

City of Roswell

The racquet-sports catalog (app.amilia.com) lists seasonal tennis sessions. Select a current class to see its age, level, location, and price. The catalog names academy contact Ryan Brandt at (404) 966-1646.

Brandt Tennis Academy

Brandt (brandttennisacademy.com) holds group drills at Roswell Area Park and East Roswell Park. Its program page (brandttennisacademy.com) lists ability evaluations, private and semi-private coaching, and stringing. Contact the academy for current lesson prices.

OZ Tennis Academy

OZ (oztennisacademy.com) lists private and semi-private lessons, ALTA/USTA team coaching, cardio tennis, clinics, and mixers at Martin’s Landing locations. Contact Marcus Hurtig at (404) 788-6133; ask about site access and lesson duration when getting a price.

OTP Tennis

Jeff Randolph (otptennis.com) advertises adult and junior private instruction around Roswell, plus team coaching. His site lists $75 for a new client’s one-hour private or hitting lesson at his home court and $25 per player for a one-hour team group lesson. Confirm availability and location.

Private-Club Programs

Country Club of Roswell (ccroswell.com) lists introductory adult clinics, private and group lessons, junior instruction, and cardio tennis. Brookfield (invitedclubs.com) lists adult drills, team instruction, and junior clinics and camps. Ask each club about eligibility before booking.

Shops & Stringing

Sutton Total Tennis (suttontotaltennis.com)

12050 Etris Road, Suite E130, Roswell, GA 30075
(470) 550-1264

Local pro shop for racquets, shoes, stringing, replacement grips, and customization. The owner’s shop profile (suttontotaltennis.com) lists Master Racquet Technician certification.

Your Serve Tennis (yourserve.com)

Roswell Marketplace, 10800 Alpharetta Highway, Suite 172, Roswell, GA 30076
(770) 641-8321

Racquets, shoes, apparel, accessories, and full-service racquet maintenance. Review its stringing service and guarantee (yourserve.com); call the Roswell store for price and turnaround.

Brandt Tennis Academy (brandttennisacademy.com)

Offers stringing drop-off through its coaches for academy players and other customers. Arrange drop-off and confirm pricing directly.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I find a similarly skilled hitting partner?

Share your NTRP level, singles or doubles preference, available times, and whether you want a match or a relaxed rally. For a regular group, explore ALTA’s team board (altatennis.org), USTA Atlanta’s team finder (ustaatlanta.com), city lessons, and club clinics. ALTA lets you contact teams seeking players; it does not place players on rosters. For flexible singles, consider the USTA Atlanta ladder (ustaatlanta.com), T2Tennis (t2tennis.com), or Ultimate Tennis (ultimatetennis.com).

What works best if I’m only visiting?

Contact a clinic or social organizer before you arrive, with your exact dates and level. OZ Tennis Academy (oztennisacademy.com) lists adult mixers and group options; ask if visitors can join. The Roswell/Alpharetta 3.5–4.0 doubles group (meetup.com) names local courts, but its publicly visible events are old, so check for a new event. For a seven-day stay, arrange a specific partner and court time before relying on a league registration.

How do I secure courts for a seven-day trip?

Use the city’s online reservations (app.amilia.com). Its annual-pass listing (app.amilia.com) says nonresidents can reserve three days ahead and residents seven days ahead. At the posted $9 nonresident rate, a two-hour booking costs $18. Search Roswell Area Park and East Roswell Park first, then Hembree and Grimes Bridge. Bring your ID and reservation receipt, which the city requires for confirmation (roswellgov.com). Ask private clubs about a member-hosted guest visit.

How do I join private or group lessons?

Choose a current session in the city racquet-sports catalog (app.amilia.com). For private, semi-private, or ability-group coaching, contact Brandt (brandttennisacademy.com), OZ (oztennisacademy.com), or OTP Tennis (otptennis.com). Club members can ask Country Club of Roswell (ccroswell.com) or Brookfield (invitedclubs.com) about clinics. Confirm court access and any additional court charge when booking an independent coach.

Where should an NTRP 2.0–4.0 player start?

At 2.0, begin with instruction and practice rallies. At 2.5–3.0, add social matches or an entry-level team. At 3.5–4.0, seek level-matched doubles, team play, or a singles ladder. These are practical starting points based on USTA’s NTRP descriptions (usta.com); an event may not have a flight at every level. A coach or club drill can help you check your level.